eBook PDF / e-Pub The Four Loves

The Four Loves (Rating: 3.29 - 4130 votes)

Reading books The Four Loves The Four Loves - Read Online or Download The Four Loves by Willard Baldwin Book For Free. Available forma: PDF, TXT , ePub , PDB , RTF, Audio Books C.S. Lewis full text books
Title:The Four Loves
Format Type:Ebook
Author:C.S. Lewis
Publisher:HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 13:
Number of Pages:170
Category:Christian, Non fiction, Theology, Philosophy, Faith, Classics

The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis

PDF, EPUB, MOBI, TXT, DOC The Four Loves i The Four Loves i summarizes four kinds of human love affection friendship erotic love and the love of God Masterful without being magisterial this book s wise gentle candid reflections on the virtues and dangers of love draw on sources from Jane Austen to St Augustine The chapter on charity love of God may be the best thing Lewis ever wrote about Christianity Consider his reflection on Augustine s teaching that one must love only God because only God is eternal and all earthly love will someday pass away blockquote Who could conceivably begin to love God on such a prudential ground because the security so to speak is better Who could even include it among the grounds for loving Would you choose a wife or a Friend if it comes to that would you choose a dog in this spirit One must be outside the world of love of all loves before one thus calculates blockquote His description of Christianity here is no less forceful and opinionated than in i Mere Christianity i or i The Problem of Pain i but it is far less i anxious i about its reader s response and therefore more persuasive than any of his apologetics When he begins to describe the nature of faith Lewis writes Take it as one man s reverie almost one man s myth If anything in it is useful to you use it if anything is not never give it a second thought i Michael Joseph Gross i

City of Endless Night, Dark in Death

The Magician's Nephew (Chronicles of Narnia, #6), Mere Christianity, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Chronicles of Narnia, #3), The Chronicles of Narnia (Chronicles of Narnia, #1-7), The Screwtape Letters, The Horse and His Boy (Chronicles of Narnia, #5), The Last Battle (Chronicles of Narnia, #7), The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia, #1), The Silver Chair (Chronicles of Narnia, #4), Prince Caspian (Chronicles of Narnia, #2)